Indiana News

8th member of Indiana Senate won’t seek re-election

INDIANAPOLIS (AP) – Democratic Indiana state Sen. Jim Arnold of LaPorte says he won’t run for re-election.

The 71-year-old Arnold becomes the eighth state senator to announce he is retiring or running for other office. He previously had announced he would see a third term, but said he changed his mind.

State Rep. David Niezgodski (NEEZ’-gahd-skee), a South Bend Democrat, has announced plans to run for the Senate seat being vacated by state Sen. John Broden, also a South Bend Democrat, who is running to become a St. Joseph circuit judge.

Others who have announced they won’t seek re-election are Republicans Patricia Miller and Scott Schneider, both of Indianapolis, Brent Steele of Bedford, Brent Waltz of Greenwood and Carlin Yoder of Middlebury and Democrat Earline Rogers of Gary.

Waltz is running for Congress.