INDIANAPOLIS (WISH) – The Fourth of July is just two days away, and there are rules anyone planning on setting off fireworks needs to know.
Statewide law allows fireworks any day of the year from 9 a.m. to 11 p.m. On Independence Day, fireworks are allowed from 9 a.m. until midnight.
But the rules are different in some Indiana counties and cities. In Indianapolis, people can just set off fireworks between June 28 and July 9.
- June 28 – July 3: 5 p.m. to two hours after sunset
- July 4: 10 a.m. to midnight
- July 5 – July 9: 5 p.m. to two hours after sunset
In Noblesville, Fishers and Carmel, residents can set off fireworks during the same hours, between June 29 and July 9.
People also need to be careful about where and what kind of fireworks they use. State law says you’re free to use fire crackers, sparklers and other types of small fireworks without a permit. If you’re planning on putting on a bigger show – using the big fountains, comets or anything you’d see at a professional show – you’ll need to talk to ATF to get a permit before you even buy the fireworks. Teens are not allowed to buy fireworks at all.
“First of all you have to be 18 to purchase fireworks and we recommend that when you have children nearby that it’s always adult supervision and children should not be handling fireworks,” State Fire Marshal Jim Greeson said.
You can set off fireworks on your property, on someone else’s property with their permission or at a designated fireworks location with the State Fire Marshal’s permission.
Officials say it’s most important to use common sense when setting off fireworks. Not only can fireworks be dangerous, breaking the rules can be expensive. Some of the fines for using fireworks illegally can range from $500 for first offenders to $2,500 for repeat offenders.