Inside INdiana Business

2021 Teacher of the Year award honors all Indiana teachers

Katie Pourcho of the Danville Community School Corporation was named the 2020 Teacher of the Year (photo courtesy of the Indiana Department of Education)

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. (Inside INdiana Business) – The Indiana Department of Education says the 2021 Teacher of the Year Program will recognize all Indiana teachers. The department says the annual award, which has recognized outstanding teachers for more than 60 years, is traditionally only given to one educator.

IDOE says it is proud to honor educators serving Indiana’s 1.2 million students during this nontraditional time. The department expects to resume the program’s usual selection process for the 2022 award.

“The COVID-19 pandemic brought new complexities and challenges to schools with no advance warning,” said State Superintendent Dr. Jennifer McCormick. “Teachers across our state have displayed a level of flexibility and commitment, underscoring the fact Hoosiers really are #INthisTogether.”

The department say the program’s mission is to inspire, rejuvenate, and celebrate the teaching profession.


Pixel Image