Inside INdiana Business

Finalists named for Indianapolis Prize

Photo courtesy of the Indianapolis Zoo

INDIANAPOLIS (Inside Indiana Business) — Six conservationists have been named finalists for the Indianapolis Zoological Society’s top award for animal conservation. The Indianapolis Prize honors and rewards individuals who have worked to save an animal species, or multiple species, from extinction.

Every other year, the Indianapolis Prize awards $250,000 to one winner, while five finalists receive $10,000 each.

The six finalists for the 2020 Indianapolis Prize are:

Dee Boersma, Ph.D. – University of Washington; Ecosystem Sentinels
Christophe Boesch, Ph.D. – Max Planck Institute of Evolutionary Anthropology; Wild Chimpanzee Foundation
Gerardo Ceballos, Ph.D. – National Autonomous University of Mexico, Institute of Ecology
Sylvia Earle, Ph.D. – Deep Ocean Exploration and Research, Inc.; Mission Blue; SEAlliance
John Robinson, Ph.D. – Wildlife Conservation Society
Amanda Vincent, Ph.D. – The University of British Columbia, Project Seahorse
The six finalists were chosen by a nine-person committee. According to officials, each finalist was evaluated on the significance of their achievements in the conservation of an animal species or multiple species, the measurable outcomes resulting from their work, the quality of science involved in their conservation efforts, the number of years dedicated to conservation work and a “demonstrated spirit of cooperation with zoological societies and other like-minded institutions.”

“The 2020 Indianapolis Prize Finalists have developed effective approaches to wildlife conservation that are being implemented and replicated all over the world,” said Wes Sechrest, chief scientist and chief executive officer of Global Wildlife Conservation and an Indianapolis Prize Nominating Committee member.

“They have persisted despite long odds and countless obstacles to protect species that contribute to Earth’s ecosystems. These individuals are not just accomplished and impressive – they are heroic. We should celebrate them and answer their call to action.”

The winner of the 2020 Indianapolis Prize will be this spring and honored at the Indianapolis Prize Gala presented by Cummins Inc. in September.

For more information about the finalists, click here.