Make your home page

Frankton defeats Sheridan 73-40.

INDIANAPOLIS (AP) – Park Tudor won its second consecutive class 2A state championship Saturday with a 73-46 victory over Frankton that tied the state record for the largest margin of victory in the class.

Frankton was pesky in the first quarter, trading shots with the Panthers, but trailed 13-7 heading into the second quarter.

Park Tudor’s athleticism and size proved to be too much, opening the second quarter with an 8-1 run to make it 23-8, and never looked back.

The Eagles only had four baskets inside the arc by the end of the third quarter, going 12 for 49 (24.5 percent) from the floor and 6 for 29 (20.7 percent) with 3-pointers.

Park Tudor senior Bryce Moore scored 31 points and added six rebounds and six assists, and fellow senior Evan Frank had 11 points and 11 rebounds.

It’s Park Tudor’s third state title in five years and fifth state finals appearance since 2010.

FRANKTON, Ind. (WISH) – Three Frankton High School seniors have won Honorable Mention in C-SPAN’s National 2015 StudentCam competition.

Tarah Collins, Nate Gollmer and Jacob Whatley submitted their short documentary titled “Eminent Domain: Mounds Lake,” into C-SPAN’s national competition, little knowing they would receive $250 as an honorable mention award for their work.

The competition, now in it’s 11th year, invites middle school children (grades 6-8) and high school students (grades 9-12) to create, write, direct and produce a 5-7 minute documentary about a national policy topic.

The question C-SPAN asks students who are determining their documentary topic: “The Three Branches and You: tell a story that demonstrates how a policy, law, or action by either the executive, legislative, or judicial branch has affected you or your community.”

Over 2,200 student videos were submitted in response.

The documentary shorts were judged by a panel of C-SPAN educational representatives on whether the shorts included thoughtful examination of theme, quality, inclusion of differing perspectives and effective inclusion of C-SPAN programming.

Tarah, Nate and Jacob were three of the 347 winning students from 45 participating states.

To watch the 150 winning documentary video shorts, click here.