Make your home page

Did your school make AC’s Top 8 after week 1?

Franklin Community Student Section, 2022 The Zone Banner Champions

INDIANAPOLIS (WISH) – Last Friday marked the opening night of the high school football season, and high schools around central Indiana were battling for more than just wins and losses. 

The schools began the season-long battle for the 2023 WISH-TV The Zone Banner presented by Crew Carwash and Bailey & Wood Financial Group.

WISH-TV Sports Director Anthony Calhoun released his Top 8 student sections following week 1.

These schools stood out and are in contention to win the undisputed top spirit award The Zone Banner to display in their school gymnasium.

The list includes the only two-time champs of The Zone Banner, two other previous winners, as well as a reigning IHSAA state champion.

All eight teams won their season opening matchup, and six of the eight won by a wide margin. So while team success is not a requisite to win The Zone Banner, it definitely makes it easier to cheer.

Congratulations to the following schools, listed alphabetically:

AC’s Top 8

Cathedral (55-14 win over Lafayette Jeff at Lucas Oil Stadium).

Bishop Chatard (49-23 win over Brebeuf).

Fishers (44-0 win over North Central).

Franklin Community (42-3 win over New Albany).

Hamilton Southeastern (28-14 win over Carroll).

Martinsville (23-19 win over Bedford North Lawrence).

Westfield (34-14 win over New Palestine).

Zionsville (24-21 win over Pike).

Next Week

Next Sunday, AC will release an updated list of his Top 8 “Best Student Section”

Ways to crack the Top 8 include:

  1. Show your school spirit better than anyone else in Central Indiana!
  2. Bring the heat with The Zone swag, including posters, t-shirts, and chants!
  3. Have the best social media presence! Use the hashtag #TheZone8 and #WeWantTheBanner and follow us on the accounts below.

Social Media

Follow us on X, formerly known as Twitter, @WISH_TV, and @ACwishtv.

Follow us on Instagram at ACWeWantTheBanner and ACWish8.

Follow us on Facebook at WISH-TV and Anthony Calhoun.