Make your home page

Scott McLaughlin wins pole position for Indianapolis 500

Pole Day at the Indianapolis 500

INDIANAPOLIS (WISH) — Scott McLaughlin was the fastest driver out of the Fast 6 on Sunday, capturing the pole position for the Indianapolis 500.

This is McLaughlin’s first ever pole position at the Indianapolis 500. His best finish in the race in his three starts is 14th, which was last year.

“It’s incredible,” McLaughlin said. “I think mostly to sweep the front row for Team Penske, first time since ’88, is an amazing feeling for the team. Execution rate was so high and to put the yellow submarine Pennzoil Chevy back in victory lane is just the most incredible feeling. You know, I worked very hard in this for my whole career in IndyCar just to be good on ovals and be good at a place like this. And, thankfully, I got an amazing car behind me, and amazing team, and we’re in the game.”

Team Penske once again was a dominant force on Sunday, getting all three of their drivers in the top three positions for the first time in 36 years.

Will Power finished in second, and reigning Indy 500 winner Josef Newgarden was the third fastest out of the Fast 6.

Kyle Larson qualified in the fifth position. Larson is looking to complete “The Double,” racing in the Indy 500 and the NASCAR Coca-Cola 600 on the same day. He’s the first to try it since Kurt Busch in 2014, and is looking to be the first to successfully complete it since Tony Stewart in 2001.

19-year-old rookie Nolan Siegel was the lone driver to not qualify for the race today.

News 8 Sports‘ driver analyst Graham Rahal will be in the 33rd position for the second straight year after just barely qualifying for the race on Sunday afternoon.

“I’m just happy we’re in,” Rahal said. “But last year, I saw everybody celebrating and it just rubbed salt in the wound. So, I’m not going to be that guy. We’re just going to turn the page to tomorrow.”

The Indianapolis 500 will start at 12:45 p.m. on Sunday, May 26.