Make your home page

IMPD names Crime Fighters of the Year

INDIANAPOLIS (WISH) — Indianapolis Metropolitan Police Department and the Marion County Prosecutor’s Office selected several residents for the 2015 Crime Fighters of the Year award.

Mayor Greg Ballard and IMPD Chief Rick Hite were on hand to congratulate the winners.

“These citizens have consistently shown their commitment to maintaining active police-community partnerships and to improving the quality of life in our neighborhoods,” said Chief Hite.

The recipients received a plaque and a catered meal for their efforts on making Indianapolis a safer place.

Chris Stabb, who lives near 10th Street and Sherman Drive, received an award for standing up to criminals in his neighborhood. According to police, Stabb has been an advocate in warning police to potential problems and he’s started a Neighborhood Watch.

“I’m honored and shocked,” said Stabb after he received his award.

In the past five years there have been four murders in Stabb’s neighborhood, and despite the alarming numbers, he maintains that better days are ahead.

The celebration today kicked off the National Night Out, an event that turns into one big block party between police and residents in various neighborhoods across the city.

In addition to Stabb, several other people were honored for their crime fighting efforts. The list is below.IMPD District Honorees

  • Downtown District – Glenn Blackwood (Fletcher Place CrimeWatch)
  • East District – Chris Stabb (Northeast Side Community Organization)
  • North District – Lana Stevens (Castle Cove CrimeWatch)
  • Northwest District – Ken & Juanita Schwenker (Oil Creek/Jade Court CrimeWatch)
  • Southeast District – Hubler Chevrolet
  • Southwest District – Carl Finchum (Luett CrimeWatch)

Marion County Prosecutor’s Office

  • Ben Hunter, Chief of Staff Butler University
  • Dr. Brandie Oliver, Associate Professor Butler University
  • Detective Bruce Allee, Butler University Police Department