Make your home page

Indiana Authors Awards announced

Cover of "Attucks! ", winner of the Indiana Authors Children's book category.

INDIANAPOLIS (Inside INdiana Business) — Eight authors have been named as the 2020 Eugene and Marilyn Glick Indiana Authors. The awards highlight a variety of winners, which include a New York Times bestseller and Pulitzer winners and nominees. The eight works were chosen from 35 in eight categories, all from authors with Indiana connections.

The awards are designed by Indiana Humanities and Glick Philanthropies and are issued every other year.

“Indiana has a rich literary tradition, and this class of Indiana Authors Award winners shows that the legacy is alive and growing,” said Indiana Humanities President and CEO Keira Amstutz. “We are honored to partner with Glick Philanthropies to raise awareness about these books not only in Indiana, but among readers across the nation. “

The award-winning books are:

Children’s: Attucks! Oscar Robertson and the Basketball Team that Awakened a City, by Phillip Hoose

Drama: The Jack Plays, by James Still

Emerging: Driven: A White-Knuckled Ride to Heartbreak and Back, by Melissa Stephenson

Fiction: The Life List of Adrian Mandrick, by Chris White

Genre: Pimp My Airship, by Maurice Broaddus

Nonfiction: The Book of Delights, by Ross Gay

Poetry: Sightseer in This Killing City, by Eugene Gloria

Young Adult: All the Things We Do in the Dark, by Saundra Mitchell

Each winner receives $5,000, a limestone award and the opportunity to make a $500 donation to an Indiana library of their choosing. Beginning in 2021, the winners will be able to tour the state, in between award years, to connect with readers, teachers and students.